Pathirana, Hemantha debut for Sri Lanka as Afghanistan bowl

Sri Lanka

Toss Afghanistan chose to bowl vs Sri Lanka

Afghanistan won the toss and chose to bowl first, citing the freshness of the surface at Hambantota. Captain Hashmatullah Shahidi expected there to be some early movement. Dasun Shanaka said he would have bowled first too, but expected there to be runs in the surface.

Sri Lanka will field two debutants. Matheesha Pathirana, who played a significant role in Chennai Super Kings’ IPL title-winning campaign will play his first ODI, while legspinning-allrounder Dushan Hemantha also plays his first match. Sri Lanka are without Wanindu Hasaranga, who is struggling with a foot injury, while Dushmantha Chameera also sits the first match out.
For Afghanistan, Rashid Khan is unavailable for this match with injury, but left-arm wristspinner Noor Ahmad plays alongside Mujeeb Ur Rahman. Seam-bowling allrounder Azmatullah Omarzai plays ahead of Gulbadin Naib.

There was already a breeze at the Sooriyawewa ground, which is only likely to grow stronger through the day, potentially making bowling difficult for Sri Lanka in the afternoon.

Sri Lanka XI: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne, 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Kusal Mendis (wk), 4 Charith Asalanka, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Dhananjaya de Silva, 8 Dushan Hemantha, 9 Kasun Rajitha, 10 Lahiru Kumara, 11 Matheesha Pathirana

Afghanistan XI: 1 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), 2 Ibrahim Zadran, 3 Rahmat Shah, 4 Hashmatullah Shahidi (capt), 5 Najibullah Zadran, 6 Mohammad Nabi, 7 Azmatullah Omarzai, 8 Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 9 Noor Ahmad, 10 Fazalhaq Farooqi, 11 Fareed Ahmad

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Wolvaardt in the runs as Strikers enter WBBL final on a high
Mohammad Hafeez: Australia tour a ‘nothing-to-lose opportunity’
Owen leads Tasmania fightback after Neil-Smith finishes with seven
Steven Smith set for Sydney Sixers’ opening BBL match
Voll backs Heat as ‘perfect team’ to stop Strikers back-to-back bid

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *